photo by zaria rashay

afterthought

zaria rashay
2 min readMay 6, 2022

--

a poem

instead of saying
i love you,
i should have said
that the sun does not
rise only for your eyes.

that my heart does
not beat to the rhythm
of your voice.

instead of saying
i need you,
i should have said
that lonely is sweeter
than your kisses.

that i fill the empty
bits of my home with
my own laughter

instead of saying
i miss you,
i should have said
that forgiveness is
no lover of mine.

that i did not
keep our memories
safely locked away.

i want to express my heartfelt gratitude to you for taking the time to read my work. it really means the world to me. feel free to clap, comment, and/or highlight; your support is genuinely valued on my end. if you are curious on how to and/or willing to further support me. you can buy me a pen. i also value good ol’ fashion word of mouth, so please feel free to share my piece and consider exploring this blog post. thank you again for reading this far.

--

--

zaria rashay

the nighttime musings of a poetess. ig @zariarashay youtube: zariarashay